More and more people are seriously overweight. Some people suggest the solution to this problem is to increase the price of fattening foods. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, the growing rate of obesity and its consequences on individuals’ health has become an issue of concern to society. It is obvious that governments in several countries are worried about public health. As a positive approach, in many countries, authorities have decided to increase the price of junk foods which in my opinion is a proper way to tackle this issue. In the forthcoming paragraphs, we will discuss how this approach besides other solutions would rescue many lives. Firstly, people usually decide to eat junk foods not only because of their joy but also due to their lower price. In fact, in many cases, fattening foods have a lower price because they are made of low-quality materials which are not healthy and make people vulnerable to various diseases. To explain more, the real victims of this phenomenon are the people with the average financial situation who don’t desire to pay a high amount of money for food and unfortunately, this group constitute the majority of society. As an effective solution, rising the price of fattening foods would lead people to consider their choices and consume foods with high-quality ingredients. For example, sea foods might have more chance to be selected against fast foods if they have the same price. Secondly, there are some other substantial reasons such as the consumption of cigarettes and alcoholic drinks that would lead people to be overweight. For instance, in recent experiments on people who suffer from obesity and heart diseases, high amount of alcoholic drinks and cigarette consumption is reported. Therefore, the overuse of these products should be seriously controlled by the authorities. To clarify more, either increasing the price of these damaging products or prohibition of them might be helpful. Lastly, psychological diseases such as anxiety and depression can not be denied as one of the important reasons for obesity. Based on scientific facts, eating too much is a protective guard of the body against anxiety which consequently results in overweight. As a matter of fact, every day, people in society face various problems and obstacles which put them under the pressure of life and lead them to anxiety. Therefore, as another effective solution to decrease the rate of the obesity, it is required that health organisations provide people with proper instruction and treatment about psychological diseases as one of the major reasons for overweight. In conclusion, obesity has become a major problem in many countries. Governments are worried about its serious health issues and the devastating consequences.Positively, some steps such as increasing the price of junk foods have been taken although, they are not enough and more solutions must be approved such as the prohibition of alcoholic drinks and cigarettes.