Food travels thousands of miles before it reaches customers. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

In today’s world, the laws of supply and demand dictate the distances foodstuffs must travel before they are consumed. Often certain geographical areas are favourable for the production of particular foods. It is argued that the extreme distances some foods travel before reaching their consumers reflect positive trends occurring around the world. This will be shown by looking at the cultural and economic benefits that derive from international trade in edible goods. For one, the trading of food between countries can be seen as evidence of cultural amalgamation, and this is a positive thing. For example, Japanese sushi, once considered an oddity among American circles, is now consumed as regularly in the United States as many American dishes. It is felt culinary exchanges such as this are evidence of the world ’s ongoing growth towards a united culture. As the blurring of cultural differences can bring with it understanding, tolerance and peace, it is felt this example shows how the trading of foods over great distances can be seen as a positive thing. In addition to this, the buying and selling of food among nations provides employment opportunities to workers around the world. For instance, global demand for coffee has allowed Columbia to exercise a geographical advantage it has in the production of this product. Because coffee can be shipped great distances without spoiling, this example acts as evidence of the benefits that derive from the transporting of foods to other countries. Thus, the positive results that come from foodstuffs traversing thousands of miles before consumption can be seen. In conclusion, After analyzing how food permitted to travel around the world helps to create cultural understanding and stimulate economies, it has been proven that this brings with it more benefits than drawbacks. It is hoped the international foodstuffs trade continues to grow in an I'm shrinking manner.