It is better for college students to live far away from home than live at home with their parents. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Whether or not students should spend time on college studies living with parents is a debatable issue. I agree with the view that those students who choose to live far away from their parents learn more than those who live with them. One obvious benefit of spending time away from home during college education for teens is that they might become more confident. If a person lives alone, he will become more confident which could help him in becoming an individual with a strong personality. One could learn basic useful skills such as cooking and bargaining for prices which may help him in living better life later on. Another significant advantage could be the development of social and communication skills through travelling alone. It is, therefore, better for a student to get used to living like an independent individual. However, it is argued that remaining far from guardians at the time of college education has some certain drawbacks. One of them is the feeling of loneliness and some pupils may develop depression. Although this problem could occur, nowadays modes of communication are so advanced that one can communicate with parents all the time through Skype or FaceTime. Another argument is that teenagers require additional training from parents along with formal education to become better members of the community. For instance, parents could help children in learning discipline, however, if a person remains alone, the pressure of studies might help him in maintaining skills of discipline himself. Thus, these issues can be tackled with ease. In conclusion, it is not the right step to keep teenagers in hostels or community centres. In my opinion, for students, spending time in a hostel away from family members has far more significant advantages including the development of personality and other useful skills than living with parents