Some people prefer to take a gap year between high school and university, to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In many nations,it is believed that youth are motivated to take a gap year between school graduation and university studies. This essay will suggest that it is helpful to improve self-esteem and learning the value of money are the biggest advantages, however loss of touch in their learning and financial crisis due to travel expenses are the primary disadvantages. To begin with, there are a number of constructive aspects for youngsters who gets a year to engage in work or travel.Those trump cards are, that they become independent and confident as well as develop a sense of pride in themselves and also gain an understanding of various expenditures in their everyday life. It is very much important for their future as it helps to build faith in their own potential. For instance, one of my teachers who had utilized such a time in his past productively on some activities led him to earn for his further education. On the other hand, there are several adverse effects such as disappearing the desire of learning as they are exploring their life by travelling. Moreover, they are receiving enough salary for their day-to-day needs, thus they forget the importance of continuing education. Furthermore, the expense of travel makes them financially unstable and thus they be in want of a job other than schooling. For example, children from SK street of Kochi are working in various shops instead of studying only because they are directed towards enjoyment unfortunately not towards learning. To sum up, there are so many positives as well as negatives in taking a one-year space between high school and higher studies.