In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Information has never been more accessible during human history than now, when everyone with a smartphone can simply acquire anything after several clicks on the screen. Therefore, it is predicted that online books or newspapers will completely take over the place of printed ones. However, I cannot agree with it. It is undoubtedly that digital material has its own merits and its market and audience will continue to expand in the foreseeable future. Nonetheless, there are several important features that could not be ignored about physical books. First and foremost, no matter how time changes, the feeling of holding a real book can never be replaced. The sound of page-turning, the smell of ink, and the casualness of noting down thoughts on margins, all of which compose the wonderfulness of reading. Secondly, printed information offers a sense of security. With the advancement of technology, the Internet can provide access to any information as easily as it can erase them. For example, it has been widely complained that companies and governments try to hide or modify news reports which are not favourable to them through bribing Internet oligarchs. Therefore, unchangeable paperwork is more reliable. Last but not least, the price advantage of digital reading over physical books has not been the same as it used to be. An increasing amount of online resources started to charge subscription fees as valuable information should never be taken for granted. In that case, the ideas of free reading will gradually subside and people might turn back to original forms of reading. In summary, I believe printed books or newspapers might lose some popularity for some time but will always take up a position in human needs.