Schools should stop using books to teach and use films, TV, and computers in the classroom instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Technology has indeed transformed every aspect of our lives and the education system will not be an exception in the coming days. The debate between textbooks versus technologies has erupted in the last few years and is still a controversial subject. Some people argued that schools should replace books with other technological devices in education. I completely agree with this idea for many reasons. In my opinion, using films, TV, and computers in teaching has a great positive impact on the education process. Students will have more interactive learning with their teachers than picking up information from textbooks; when pupils watch the lesson as a film, they can interact easily with their tutor and the film could be paused and replayed intermittently for explanations. Another reason in terms of memorizing knowledge, it seems to me that auditory and visual memory together is stronger than reading memory alone, children can easily memorize scientific information that is explained through TV or computers. Science experiments, for instance, can be understood easily if it is demonstrated through the film before it is being applied in the science lab. Additionally, books’ weight and the necessity of carrying them every day on students’ shoulders can cause quite serious health issues. Students who daily commute to and from schools, carrying a backpack full of books, can suffer from back pain and spine problems in the future. It is widely known that many medical reports have advised that avoid carrying a heavy backpack for a long period, especially for young children. Therefore, using technological devices such as films, TV, or computers in classrooms is much better than using textbooks. In conclusion, I believe that because of their benefit in the teaching process either; regarding interactive learning or memorizing information and avoiding health problems, films, TV, and computers should replace traditional books in the teaching system.