In the past people wore their traditional clothes and followed their culture. These days most people wear similar clothes and therefore look very similar to one another. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is a well-known fact that it is a widespread practice to wear similar outfits to the traditional attire that older generations used to have owing to numerous factors. Conventional clothing has been observed mostly in festivals and ceremonies. This essay will discuss the negatives and positives of this change. I believe this change is grossly positive for modern society. To begin with, as the world has become a small village due to globalization, the habits of the population have been observed to shift. Traditional outfits are obsolete from daily practice due to which people are losing their touch of identity. In addition to that, the new generation is attracted to foreign cultures and lost taste in their own ethnicities. Moreover, the fast-paced lifestyle, ease of availability and cheapness of modern wear contribute to this transition. In contrast, similar clothing has reduced discernment in society due to economic conditions. In the past there was a great level of discrimination based on financial status, for example, high-income people used to wear silk while the impoverished used cotton clothes. Nowadays, it is difficult to judge anyone’s status based on their apparel. Furthermore, similar dressing brings a sense of equality. For instance, office-going persons are dressed similarly, which brings a sense of equality and aids in open working culture. In a nutshell, these changes are due to globalization and ease of migration around the globe. While efforts must be taken to bring awareness about our ethos, I believe this has a more positive impact on society.