To some people studying the past is the best way to help young people function well in the modern world. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures could be effective in helping young people to function well in the modern world?

The majority of people believe that learning mistakes from the past could help the new generations to stop repeating them again, while some think that some history was manipulated by those influenced figures. In my opinion, I totally agree with the statement even though there are some drawbacks. Today's modern world where we are living is the result of not only the uncountable mistakes made by ancestors but also upgrades by them throughout the eras. By learning fiasco from descendent and the adjustment that they have made, the adolescents could make the world a better place to live in. Take rocket science improvement as an example, though there were many mistakes in launching the rockets to the moon, human beings did exceptional work to land on it after many failed trials and errors, and stepped another milestone in human history. Nevertheless, some people believe that it was propaganda made by the US government to let the Soviet Union lead to bankruptcy. On the other hand, some still believe that there are other effective ways to make the world a better place since they think that the past could manipulate adolescents. To that extent, knowing what is correct or wrong at an early age could be effective. For example, teachers and parents could teach their children how important is climate adjustment for the new era which is not in any kind of old day book. Parents should bring their children to the most affected climate changes area or Continents to let them realise how important are climate changes and the consequence for the new generation if we do not act correctly. To sum up, I totally agree that the younger generation could learn about the disaster and improvements of the older generations, but there are also other ways than learning from yesteryear.