Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Spending the budget on public transportation rather than roads is a better alternative for governments.In my opinion, both roads and railways have their own usages and neither should be put aside by the government as they are equally vital. Primarily, public transportation is better for the environment as less gas is used and will result in less air pollution, Rails are also faster for commuters and make it possible for citizens to reside in one city and work in another one without having to suffer from traffic and lack of parking lots.generally speaking, if city regions have a decent railway then overall livability and convenience is improved. for instance my parents live in Malmo and thanks to the great train system they are able to work in Copenhagen, which by the way is another city. While it is true that spending money on public transportation comes with many upsides, shifting our attention from Roads is neither reasonable nor fair, as many people use their personal vehicles as their main transport means. So it is supremely important to maintain roads. Not to mention that modern cities are built for cars and taking all money from roads can lead to horrendous outcomes such as an increased risk of car crashes, poor lightening system and presence of bumps on the roads.Do you think that people who pay taxes deserve to suffer from poor-quality roads? In conclusion, we need to accept with an open mind that while improving railways have great advantages, Government's focus must still be on roads as well because many people require roads to commute.