Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In today’s world, with the rise of cheap and innovative machinery, more and more parents are using smartphones as “digital babysitters.” As a result, some offspring are spending hours every day on their devices, watching YouTube videos or scrolling through social media. From my perspective, this is a two-sided problem, but the drawbacks outweigh the benefits. On one hand, early access to smartphones can prepare kids for a rapidly changing world. Because automation is so commonplace now, it is necessary that the children have knowledge of how to use it, or they run the risk of being called “lagging behind” by their peers. Furthermore, children do not want to sit down and read the news, so social media and YouTube are excellent ways of helping them keep up with the world and be able to discuss it with their guardians in depth. On the other side of the spectrum, although letting your child learn how to use tech is important in the 21st century, parents these days do not bother to control what their youngsters are watching, leading to exposure to clickbait, malicious or inappropriate information. This could potentially ruin their young perception of life and endanger important information about their parents, such as their credit card information or downloading viruses. It also ruins their eyesight at a young age, because children are using phones for hours at a time, which may force them to wear glasses or contact lenses. Last but not least, kids can become addicted to their devices. If they are already wasting hours surfing the internet, when they grow up, they may lose the ability to concentrate, which will affect their grades and leave a bad impression on teachers. To conclude, even though there are certain benefits of using smartphones, I strongly believe that children are still too young to know how to use machinery effectively, and that guardians should stop abusing technology as a tool to keep their offspring occupied instead of spending more time playing with them.