Some people believe that the government should take care of old people and provide financial support after they retire. Others says individuals should save during their working years to fund their own retirement. What is your opinion? Is it a positive or negative development.

It is argued whether or not governments should help senior citizens. Although I acknowledge that we all have the responsibility to save money for retirement, I also have a firm belief that elderly people should receive support from the state. There are several reasons behind the situation about old-age individuals should get government support. One is the job market is increasingly becoming competitive. For example, there are hundreds of applications for one position in a company; whereby results in competition between elders and youth. In many cases, these young adults are usually well-prepared for the post with relevant academic qualifications that provide fewer job opportunities for the older generation making it difficult to pay for housing and food. In the end, the elderly people are fragile and they lack the physical capabilities to work; thereby it could be dangerous for their health, especially in some labour works, like in restaurants. Moreover, some aged citizens may need extra assistance regarding basic living like cooking, cleaning and shopping, but many elders are left out of care by their offspring. This is because of the modern social system where many workers are often pushed to be committed only to their careers. Thus, it is one of the roles of the government to take into consideration of old and physically vulnerable members of society because when they were young and healthy, they engaged themselves in the development of society and paid a lot of tax. As a result, elderly patients need special care from the nation. To summarize, I believe that the authorities should favour their society, especially the old group of people because of their physical inability to work and lack of job opportunities according to their strength and capabilities.