In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

The ageing population is now one of the controversial issues that people like debating about. Some people consider that it can lead to negative effects on the government, whereas others argue that those who are older have more benefits to society. I strongly agree with the view elderly people can bring out drawbacks to the government more than advantages. Firstly, one of the major disadvantages is a shortage of the job. Basically,older People who are unproductive tend to have lower abilities and slow movements when it comes to work. A decline in the workforce could hinder the development of countries. For instance, in South Korea, industries that heavily rely on physically demanding tasks are struggling to find an adequate number of young workers to replace retirees which can potentially impact sectors like manufacturing and construction. Therefore, embracing elderly individuals in society and neglecting them has downsides. Secondly, the existence of seniors is economically nonviable. It is imperative for the government to dedicate efforts and attention to the construction of facilities and infrastructure. On top of that, it incurs significant expenses and poses challenges to sustain over and over again. Eventually, the entire society can not afford to manage their countries. Moreover, elder people are more likely to have weaknesses than young people. Considerable financial investments are required for medical treatment hence they lead to an array of consumption in many adverse ways. To sum up, the fact that ageing citizens may suffer from financial and low workforce issues obviously outweighs the benefit that elderly people will contribute to society