Today more people are overweight than ever before. What in your opinion are the primary causes of this? What measures can be taken to overcome this epidemic?

Nowadays obesity is a big issue and needs to be tackled strongly by our healthcare system. Among new,generations this phenomenon is spreading fast and in twenty years the death of cardiovascular or endocrinological diseases, due to obesity, will be doubled. There are several reasons that can explain this problem, but I think that the main one is evolution. Firstly, our bodies were created to endure terrible starving conditions, in, the fact we are able to survive with only 1000 calories per day. However, thanks to evolution, in western countries, we do not have this problem anymore,,, actually some people eat more than 3000 calories per day. For example, going to McDonald's will increase our caloric intake up to 3500-4000 calories, and this would be fine if we exercised like olympian sportsmen. In fact, we do not move anymore, this is thanks to cars and buses that made our lives easier and decreased our occasions to burn calories. The solutions to obesity are not easy and straightforward, since there are a lot of reasons why people eat, sometimes it is for depression, others for trauma, but mainly it is just for boredom. One way to tackle this problem is knowledge, in, the fact it was proven that the majority of people do not know the risks of a diet full of saturated fats and sugar. For instance, doctors should advertise more about the consequences of food in our daily life and should let their patients know the risk they are undertaking. In conclusion, we will find ourselves with a generation of obese people, that will decrease our life expectancy and die of totally avoidable diseases. Knowledge is the key, but you can not change it if you do not want to.