Many children no longer read books and instead spend their time using modern technology. While some people think it is a positive trend, others think it is a problem. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is quite obvious that technology has transformed the way we live nowadays. Although some people believe that adolescents using too much modern technology is a negative trend, others say that it is a positive signal of overall development. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument while I support the latter opinion. On the first hand, many people, who think that teenagers no longer read books at libraries, might say that they spend a lot of their time using state-of-art technology. The reason for this is that they use their mobile devices to socialise with one another, wasting much of their time on trivial matters than studying. For example, a teenager normally spends more than 6 hours each day socializing, on average, on their mobile device as per a report published in a gazette newspaper. In contrast, if students were to direct their focus on, let us say, reading more books each year, they would be able to get into the college of their choice. On the other hand, I would argue that using technology is a sign of overall development. It is because of the fact that a plethora of learning takes place online these days rather than in physical classrooms. To illustrate this point, using modern technology, the adolescent can attend lectures online, saving him the time spent travelling. The flipside of this, if the internet were not introduced in our lives, learning new ideas and concepts would have been difficult for a lot of us, especially those who are studying part-time. In conclusion, while some teenagers use modern technology for frivolous matters, such as chatting with their friends online, I think many adolescents are using it to study and enhance their overall skill-set for all-around development.