Many students now have the opportunity to study in other countries. Studying abroad may bring some benefits to some students, but it also has a significant number of disadvantages. Discuss both sides of the argument and give your own opinion.

In recent years, a large number of students have decided to study abroad in developed countries. Despite the difficulties of studying abroad in another country, I believe that the benefits which they gain are worth considering/consideration. On the one hand, the students have not decided to study abroad for these reasons. Those who study abroad are also under financial pressure. They have to factor in flights, accommodation, travel expenses, living costs and the price of a year abroad. This can lead to dropouts midway through school. Moreover, some people might struggle to integrate into the local community and lack emotional support from family. This means that they suffer from social isolation, loneliness and homesickness. Therefore, they are more likely to develop mental health issues such as depression and anxiety which can affect study performance. However, I would agree with those who like studying abroad because of the benefits. First, studying abroad creates opportunities to immerse oneself in a new language. The students can receive considerable language practice. Therefore, their language proficiency is significantly improved. Second, they experience a completely different way of living. For example, international students can try exotic foods and learn about traditions unique to the host culture. This means that they will be more knowledgeable, open-minded and tolerant. Consequently, they become a global citizen of the 21st century. Additionally, they experience new jobs such as working part-time to gain experience as well as save a part of the cost of studying abroad. In conclusion, although some people think that there are some significant drawbacks for international students. I personally believe that studying abroad will benefit students in many ways.