More and more people want to buy clothes, cars and other items from famous brands. What are the reasons? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, high-end and popular brands are the number one choice of our generation. However, following this trend are many far-reaching consequences. In my range of understanding, I believe purchasing products from famous brands could bring both positive and negative results in equal measure. Therefore, this essay will outline both the drawbacks and merits as well as give the reasons. To begin with, there are various reasons people opt for expensive trademarks. Imminently, brand-name items are a physical illustration of success for many people. Thus, wearing and using luxury goods show that they are of higher social status, hence increasing their self-esteem. Furthermore, a higher price is associated with a higher quality. To enumerate, many people use brands like Nike and Addidas not only for their design but also because they are made of sustainable and long-wear materials. Additionally, goods like cars from luxurious companies are usually sold at exorbitant prices because of their unique features and better-quality engines. The growing tendency to purchase well-known products is both advantageous and disadvantageous. On the one hand, the nations where many famous brands are based usually obtain a stronger economy. As an illustration, France, where brands such as Coco Chanel, Dior, etc. were founded, has a highly-developed economic growth. This is because these brands are not only purchased domestically but are also shipped worldwide and used by other foreign countries. On the other side of the spectrum, the rise of these dominant businesses can be a factor that leads to competition and rivals between big and small companies within a nation. In brief, the tendency to consume goods from well-known organizations is a way to express a person's wealth, social status, and appearance. Therefore, I believe this trend can bring both pros and cons in equal measure to the social market, therefore, the government should enforce certain institutions as preventative measures to limit largescale monopoly.