Today people live longer after retiring from work. What problems does this cause for individuals and society? What can be done?

In this day and age, an increasing number of people are concerned that the death rate of elderly people has decreased and they live longer even after their retirement, which poses a number of problems for individuals and society. This essay will discuss the main problems associated with this trend and propose some possible solutions to alleviate any serious impacts. On the one hand, there are several problems that may arise when elderly people live longer after they retire. Firstly, a larger proportion of retired people will require financial assistance from the government to sustain themselves for their retirement. This can have an impact on the economy of a country as it requires more tax to provide pensions for retired people. Secondly, most people in their old age suffer from diseases such as diabetes or any cardiovascular diseases. Thus, they need advanced treatment techniques to assist their life. Acting as a chain reaction, the authority will need more money to support the hospitals, which means they will increase the tax which affects all the other citizens. However, a possible solution to this problem would be to make financial contributions. In other words, in many developed countries, employers are required to support retirement funds by making more financial contributions on behalf of their employees. These funds help to sustain elderly people throughout their retirement without placing a burden on government budgets. Moreover, if people are living longer after retiring, then it means they are healthy enough to continue working longer. Therefore, the government should increase the retirement age or allow partial pension payments so that the elderly can continue working part-time by their decisions. In conclusion, although people are living longer after retirement, there are several solutions that can be implemented to reduce the impacts that this trend is having on the economy.