Many people buy products that they do not really need and replace old products with new ones unnecessarily. Why do people buy things they do not really need? Do you think this is a good thing?

The world is globalizing very fast and marketing is one of the best strategies for humans to feel this rapid growth. Consequently, advertising creates human needs which are not necessary to live by. It is true people purchase items that are not necessary for daily lifestyle and also unreasonably, buy new versions of the same existing product. This tendency can be categorised as impulsive buying which is a reckless and negative impact on normal life. To begin with, Humans are naturally seeking love and attention and try to satisfy these emotions by purchasing luxury or trending products. We live in a competitive world where everyone trying to be ahead of someone by being popular or the centre of attraction. Therefore, the trouble-free method is to purchase some items that are not needed. For example, people tend to buy the newest version of electronic items like iPhones, beauty items and clothes. As a result, people will still crave attention, and acceptance and get stuck in a continual loop of satisfaction until the money is too tight to live. In my view, it is a bad practice to spend money on unwanted commodities. First of all, these unwise decisions on buying needless trending items and the new editions of the current products create a life on the breadline even without knowing. For instance, I have seen people ruin their financial stability because they purchased consumer goods, such as cars, phones, and jewellery that are not affordable. As a result, families and individuals struggle to meet their basic needs. In conclusion, unchecked and unhealthy consumerism destroys life and impacts the overall cost of living. People should encourage their selves to save money, and invest in business or education to mitigate the risk of destructive consumerism