Many students find it difficult to learn subjects like mathematics and philosophy and hence they should be optional in schools. Do you agree or disagree?

A large number of students find it difficult to understand subjects such as mathematics and philosophy, so there is a possibility that these courses should be optional. However, I strongly disagree with this suggestion. In this essay, I will explain my reasons and provide examples to support them. Finally, a suitable conclusion will be given. To begin with, I believe that schools must teach all the subjects included in the national curriculum, even the more challenging ones, because they are essential for overall development. For instance, learning to read can be difficult for many young students at first, but once they master it, they are able to access and understand all other subjects throughout their lives. In contrast, if people are not taught to read or are allowed to skip such essential subjects, they risk being excluded from many areas of society due to a lack of basic skills. Secondly, school students are children and, therefore, not mature enough to decide which subjects are useful for their future. Young learners are the best type of learners because their brains are still developing and can absorb information more easily. For example, if a child is not given the chance to practice basic mathematics at an early age, it will be much more difficult for them to learn it as an adult. In other words, it is harder for adults to learn new concepts, so missing out on early education in core subjects can be a disadvantage in the long run. In conclusion, my personal opinion is that challenging subjects should remain mandatory in school. Even if students find them difficult, they may not yet realize the importance of the knowledge they are gaining at that stage of life.