Some people think that strict punishments for driving offences are the key to reduce accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these view and give your opinion.

It is a certainly true that a number of road accidents have been increased these days. This could be due to a reckless driving of the drivers or an unsafe road situation. Some people believe that to prevent this kind of incidents, there should be some rigorous traffic rules to be imposed so driver will be afraid to commit driving violations. In my view, there are many road accidents take place due to unsafe conditions of the roads so these should be improved to avoid or minimize further accidents. On the one hand, some people argue that the raise in the penalty for traffic violations could be efficient to control road accident. They support their view with the argument that vehicle operator would drive more carefully to avoid any traffic charges on a breaking the law. For example, recently, Dubai traffic directory has introduced a new penal code which states hike in the charges against bridging any traffic rules. Since then, directory has reported a smaller number of accidents which is an apparent success of the in law. On the other hand, I recognize that enhancing the existing road system could be a more effective way to minimize further road related accidents. There are many ways to upgrade the motor ways such as installing the proper road signages, caution boards and many more to warn drivers about the hazard on the road and they should drive their vehicles more cautiously to avoid vehicle collision. To illustrate, the Dubai traffic control system has installed many new warning notices on the narrow residential streets to avoid unwanted accident. As a result, they have recorded the declination in the incidents around the area where new caution signages has been installed. In conclusion, although increasing in the level of traffic violation charges could be proven as good implement, in my view, to restructure road system could be more effective to reduce the number of road accidents.