New technology has resulted in many jobs, which used to be performed by people, now being done by computers or robots. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

There have been many changes in our society due to technological developments in recent decades. Some of the tasks people used to perform are now being fulfilled by robots and computers. This essay will argue some of the advantages of such a trend, and how its benefits outweigh its drawbacks. Understanding what technology has done to our society is fundamental to comprehending this major phenomenon. It is fair to say that technology has brought about a vast new number of professional positions. People are not forced anymore to perform tedious and repetitive tasks. Young adults, for example, used to have no choice but to go to work at industrial factories with terrible conditions because there were no other opportunities at the time. Nowadays, instead, it is thanks to the new possibilities that youngsters have plenty of jobs to choose from. In addition, the new era has also introduced new careers and courses that anyone can fulfil and achieve. However, there are some drawbacks to the new ways of the modern world. There are now many traditional arts and crafts getting lost and forgotten. As a result, some aspects of our culture will never be recovered. For instance, trade skills that our grandfathers used to learn and perform at school are most likely lost due to the new educational system, now more related to the technological world. Nonetheless, academics have explained that the concept of progress also implies adapting to changes that ultimately will prove absolutely essential for our civilization's further growth. In conclusion, despite the disadvantages the new developments have brought about, it is clear to me that changes have mostly proved beneficial to our society and to every individual. That is why I believe the advantages of the new developments far outweigh their negative effects.