Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is common for many youngsters to use their mobile devices for a significant part of each day. This essay explains the reasons for this phenomenon, and why I view this trend as creating detrimental health outcomes. There are several contributing factors to substantial smartphone use among children. The most important consideration is that contemporary education places great emphasis on virtual activity. Often pupils are required to research and submit assignments online and tend to do this on their smartphones due to their ease of use and accessibility. This was further emphasised during the recent pandemic when learning was predominantly via the Internet, requiring students to complete teamwork using mobile applications. Another reason is social media has become the default form of communication among youths. If children do not constantly access their smartphones to keep up with the activities of their peers, they may become socially isolated. In my view, there are more shortcomings of extended smartphone use in the young, mostly related to their wellbeing. Physically, the downsides of extensive screen time are twofold. First, eyesight can be damaged through constant exposure to damaging blue light, with children’s developing eyes being particularly vulnerable. In addition, smartphone use is often directly related to a sedentary lifestyle as it commonly replaces physical activity. Turning to emotional harm, if device usage is not strictly monitored, youngsters can be exposed to inappropriate violent or sexual imagery, as well as online bullying. For instance, many nations have seen an increase in mental illness among preteens as they are ill-equipped to deal with frequent harassment not only from their peers but also from delinquent adults. In conclusion, lengthy time spent using smartphones is attributable to educational demands and changing interactions among the young, and I view this tendency as being problematic for both the physical and psychological growth of children.