In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In certain places, children are made to believe that they can conquer anything if they put enough hard work into it. This essay will discuss the positives and negatives of delivering this message to children. One evident benefit is that children who believe in this message will tend to work harder, and therefore, become more successful. Their hard work will help them excel not only in school but also in many other aspects of life. For instance, putting a lot of effort into studying will guarantee them higher scores, whereas spending a lot of time practising and training will help them improve significantly in any type of sport. As they grow older, they will also adapt easily to the increasing amount of work, making them more likely to succeed in their profession. On the other hand, there are certain drawbacks to this approach. Children who believe in this message are more likely to become disappointed. There are certain situations where working hard simply is not enough, and children who put a lot of effort into these situations might find themself sad and disappointed, unable to achieve the desired result. Competitions are notable examples of such situations, since the number of prizes at such events is limited. As a result, although everyone works very hard, only a small proportion of participants will be awarded a prize. Over time, children might lose their motivation and stop working hard. In conclusion, making children believe in this message can be both beneficial and harmful in various aspects.