Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems.  Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is a common belief that the key environmental issue in the 21st century is the depletion of certain species of fauna and flora. Nevertheless, a more persuasive assertion is that water scarcity, which is constantly undermining the public’s health as we speak, should be the top priority. In this essay, I will attempt to look at both views and shed light on the preference for the latter. On the one hand, the increasing number of dying plants and animals could lead to a reduction in biodiversity and negatively affect the food chain. The study of wildlife has proven that the existences of these creatures and varieties are closely intertwined such that the loss of any link could consequently lead to the loss of another. However, one could critique that this phenomenon is merely a matter of natural selection. For instance, the death of certain species is inevitable as to adapt to the ever-changing environment, and as a result, new species evolve. On the other hand, the acute shortage of water has far more detrimental repercussions for the current society. Occupying up to two-thirds of the human body and being used for countless purposes ranging from cooking, irrigation, hygiene, etc., water is indispensable not only to the survival of each individual but also to the well-being of the whole community. Moreover, a primary cause of the aforementioned inadequacy is due to contaminated sources, which directly threaten the lives of many people globally. This is especially true for impoverished areas where insufficient and unsanitary living conditions are prominent. As an example, the high mortality rate of many Africans due to waterborne diseases is a piece of unequivocal evidence for the importance of clean water sufficiency. In conclusion, while it would be imprudent to disregard the contraction of plants and animals, one cannot deny that the impacts of water scarcity are more palpable and deserve more attention.