Overpopulation in Many Major Urban Centres Around the World is a Major Problem

Overpopulation is rising at an alarming rate in many cities around the world and it is one of the most threats to social and environmental problems in recent decades. society and governments should be aware of this issue. So the following essay will discuss the causes and some solutions for this topic. To begin with, having a comfortable life is one of the rights of citizenship. The better availability and access to medical and educational facilities are other important reasons for migration. For an instance, some people should go to cities to continue their education or to receive better health care due to the lack of universities and hospitals in rural areas. In addition, there is no suitable job market with apt income for them in those places. On the other hand, the glamours of urban life, skyscrapers, bridges and luxury cars, are one of the other factors that have increased overcrowding and it is a tempting situation. it is important to note that with the overpopulation of cities, the problems of the residents become apparent. For instance, in Tehran, Iran people, a lot of people s time is wasted in traffic and air pollution increases. There are several measures that can be taken to deal with this issue. Government plays a major role. They should increase investment in underdeveloped areas and encourage companies by giving tax incentives to open branches in these places, in addition to reduce company costs, this increases employment. The development of agricultural infrastructure not only increases employment and reduces immigration, but also promotes the economic development of the country. With appropriate measures, rural areas can be one of the tourist attractions than can even cause reverse migration. In conclusion, overpopulation causes social and environmental problems, so with calculated planning and appropriate steps, it can be reduced. If the governments try to make rural communities appealing, this problem will be diminished.