Many people are afraid to leave their homes because of their fear of crime. Some people believe that more actions should be taken to prevent crime, but others feel that little can be done. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The crime rate has seen a drastic increase over the past few years. Apparently, this has instilled a sense of fear in almost everyone and most people prefer leaving their homes once in a blue moon. However, the view that strict actions should be taken to prevent crime or nothing can be done about this situation has not been settled yet. Firstly, I feel that if a heinous crime eg. rape, murder etc, has been committed the culprit should be given the death sentence immediately. Secondly, be it a politician or a film star the punishment should be the same without any bias. This not only will help the public trust the government's ideas but also remove their fear which will help them to roam around freely. Next, the more the precautionary steps taken the more it will help in curbing down the crimes. On the other hand, some feel that imposing heavy law and order won't be beneficial. Because, it takes an ample amount of time for the court to grant any kind of judgement even if it is a serious punishable offence. One such example is the 26/11 Kasab case where it took the officials more than a year to hang him dead. But, till today there are rumours doing the rounds about whether was he still hanged because apart from the national bodies nobody witnessed it. In conclusion, I personally support that more actions should be taken against grave offences. For instance, in my opinion, this can help the victims claim justice on time and develop a kind of anxiety among the criminals so that they get more inclined towards not committing one.