Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do. To what extent do you agree or not?

It is universally believed that society should be based on rules and laws to function well and if people were allowed to do whatever they desired to do, society would be dispersed and ruined. I totally agree with the former view and will give my reasons below. On the one hand, a nation which does not have its governments and legislation would be a very dangerous place for people to settle down. Since people were free to do whatever they wanted to do, they would be more likely to commit crimes such as rape and robbery or do illegal businesses like smuggling drugs and selling endangered animals' products. The rate of crimes, therefore, would increase rapidly which means more and more people had to suffer and even die in agony. Furthermore, in terms of education, if it was not made mandatory for students to continue their studies, young people would lack the specialised knowledge and practical skills that are needed to drive the national economy of a country. On the other hand, a well-organised society would bring about benefits for its citizens. Firstly, the national governments protect their citizens from crimes and diseases. For example, people are given vaccines for free during the outbreak of Covid 19 pandemic. Secondly, rules and laws also promote equality between both sexes. For instance, when a couple gets divorced, their property will be equally divided. In conclusion, a society without laws and rules where people could do whatever they desired to do would be troublesome and risky since people's lives would be threatened by crimes. Meanwhile, an ordered society brings about numerous advantages for its inhabitants