Some people think travelling abroad is a valuable experience for young people. Others think it wastes too much time and expense. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, a certain section of people believes in travelling overseas is a great experience for the younger generation whilst some say that it consumes time and a waste of money. In my opinion, I opt to differ. First of foremost, travelling is a desirable experience for children or anyone, many of rising generation tend to learn new things despite of short or long stay such as being independent, some parents allow their children to ask for direction from a local, carrying their own passport, filling the necessary documentations and submitting at the counter, exchanging currency and so on, it allows especially teenagers to gain some knowledge during travelling with minimal supervision from their parents. Additionally, they are able to visit places, learn about the history of the country and etc. Secondly, in this context when considering the drawbacks of travelling can be expensive. Evidence in this matter is that my sister flew to the UK from Sri Lanka, and due to the current situation of fuel crisis faced locally the flight was delayed for more than two hours, as the flight had to travel to New Delhi, therefore by the time she landed in the UK, a half day of her pre-booked accommodation was a waste. She was unable to get a refund. There are situations we are unable to overcome due to practicality, nevertheless yet travelling is a valuable experience for any age group. In conclusion, as far as I am concerned it is a learning, rewarding experience for anyone, especially for the rising generation despite the pros and cons of travelling.