The majority of news being reported is bad news such as wars, famines, accidents and crime. Why do you think that is? DO you think news should be a balance of both good and bad news?

A number of media have provided more negative news, including wars, famines, accidents and crimes, than positive these days. It seems to me that the reason why they show the news is to attract a higher quantity of people's interest. However, I personally disagree with the phenomenon because information providers ideally should announce equal data both good and bad. On the one hand, It is evident that humans psychologically will take more interest in controversial things; thus, lots of media try to look for data related to anxiety, fear, and controversion. As a result, the rating of viewers will likely increase with providing the report. For example, when the case of coronavirus reached its peak in 2019, a huge quantity of communities tried to find data about the death rate caused by the virus day by day. Together with the searching trend, the majority of journalists informed announcements of people who were dying and suffering coronavirus even though doing it had added to the anxiety of our communities at the time. On the other hand, I believe that professional journalists' purposes are ideally not only to get a high number of viewers but also to inform the truth of the real conditions. Hence, they have to illustrate equal information between the negative sides and the positive sides in every situation. Moreover, if something happened, they should try to inform it without any tendencies. For instance, in 2019 a few media showed the number of people who had healed from covid-19 rather than the information about passing away. In conclusion, while lots of news report bad things in order to attract viewers' interest, I do disagree with it because I believe that journalist should be professional.