It is absolutely true fact that people cannot but imagine their lives without music. It totally interferes in each sphere of human life. What are the most popular music styles today?; Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples f'rom your own experience or knowledge.

People opine that music has become an integral part of their lives to such an extent that they cannot think if they would be able to live in its absence. Although a considerable population, particularly the old, like country music and folk music, the youth are more inclined towards hip-hop and rock styles. Considering the impact music has on our daily activities, I strongly agree with the popular opinion. Music has a deep connection with the soul for all age groups such that there is overwhelming evidence in the support of this. According to a survey conducted by Times Magazine amongst all age groups, 90% of those surveyed listen to one or the other form of music as it comforts their soul. Whatever the moment, happy or sad, the music never fails. For example, celebrations are incomplete without shaking a leg on popular dance numbers. Music provides healing in case of heartbreak or loss of near and dear ones. Additionally, with the amount of stress and pressure at work, it is imperative for people to turn to music for relief. Several music styles exist such as jazz, rock, hip-hop, pop, heavy metal, folk and so on. Firstly, the elderly population connect more with folk and country genres. For example, they enjoy the praise and worship songs sung by the church choir. Secondly, hip-hop and rock genres find favour with the younger lot. Bollywood movies like Rock On and Gully Boy had a great run at the box office because the stories were built around their life struggles, with greater emphasis on the role music played to alleviate them. To summarize, music plays a pivotal role in our lives today, such that we cannot think if we would survive without it. Youngsters throng to attend live music concerts or live bands, whereas the elders look forward to gatherings where they can get to enjoy folk songs. Hence, the human race will cease to exist if there is no music.