Some expert believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantage?

There is a common debate among experts on the advantages and disadvantages of children learning a foreign language at primary school over secondary school and I would attempt to discuss this statement here on with adequate examples, in support of its advantages that may outweigh the latter. Firstly, kids start learning at a very tender age, therefore exposing the primary curriculum to a foreign language does have its benefits. For example, the educational system in Sri Lanka brought about recent reforms to allow students to opt for the English medium at a primary level over the native language Sinhala. I too am a product of these educational reforms which enabled me to very quickly adapt to the change in the language during my higher studies, over many others who had not had this advantage while yet in Primary school. Statistics suggest that over 70% of those who studied in the English medium, have been able to secure higher marks in their higher studies. This was very much the case with many that passed out during my time. However, one of the disadvantages of this would be that students would pay less attention to the native languages which will invariably mean that they would forget their mother tongue. Therefore, in the context of Sri Lanka, this would have far fewer disadvantages as Sinhala is not an acceptable language in the modern corporate world. In Conclusion, it is quite evident that there are far too many advantages, rather than disadvantages to children being thought a foreign language in primary school rather than secondary college.