Most people accept that we now live in a globalized world but not everyone agrees that this is beneficial. To what extent is globalization a positive or negative development?

In today's modern era, the world has become more globalized. Some praise that globalization could expand businesses and raise citizens' cultural awareness, however, others blame it for eliminating jobs of local residents and having a negative impact on cultural preservation. I will discuss both pros and cons with regard to the globalized world in the following paragraphs. To begin with, one of the advantages is international trade within different countries which broadens consumers' access to goods and services. People can buy commodities worldwide without travelling to those certain countries. For example, consumers in Taiwan can buy different brands of cosmetics from Korea, a wide range of snacks from Japan and also various types of furniture from northern Europe. In addition, globalization increases residents' cultural awareness to some extent, improving cross-cultural understanding and sharing. To illustrate, in the past, people in the U.S. had limited knowledge of Chinese history and traditions, yet some Americans have learned how to speak Mandarin fluently nowadays. Apart from those positives, there are some downsides as well. Firstly, workers might lose their jobs to those with lower labour wages. It happened mostly in well-developed nations where the average salary is higher than in other developing ones. For instance, in America, large enterprises prefer to hire labours from China as the minimum wage is way lower than in the U.S. Secondly, globalization might lead to more cultural homogeneity as people’s preferences converge and products cannot compete with cheaper multinational ones. To explain, the majority start wearing jeans, watching Hollywood movies and learning English, therefore, some people are concerned that humans might lose precious languages and cultures. To sum up, even though living in a globalized world could have some downsides, the benefits we gain from it, including more consumption options and cultural diversity, do outweigh those negatives.