These days people in some countries are living in a “throw-away” society which means people use things in a short time then throw them away. Causes and problems.

Is undeniable that trends change fast and disappear quickly, especially with how technological advancement that allowed humanity to mass produce goods at small costs and exposed us to the realm of the internet and media which introduce new things to us every second. These two combined give birth to the throw-away culture which is a very concerning issue and needs to be dealt with immediately. I will elaborate more on the causes, possible consequences, and how this lifestyle can harm us and the planet. To tackle the issue, we must know its causes. Throw-away culture is a result of consumerism and capitalism. Since modern technology introduce us to mass production and machines, which permit us the ability to produce products faster with much lower cost than before. As a result, Big businesses produce a gigantic amount of goods and release them to the markets, more than the demand or population. Hence, to create demand for these goods, they use advertising. High-profile influencers and celebrities are being paid to promote products that are unnecessary to everyday life. In other words, they create trends and illusions that having newer products is a necessity rather than a privilege. people who are affected and influenced by their massive scheme feel the need to buy newer products that are absolutely non-essential to their lives and throw away the things they already have just for the sake of buying a new one. Additionally, the ubiquity of the internet and smartphones help worsen this issue since people can be exposed to new trends much faster. One clear example is the fast fashion industry which releases new styles of clothes every day and promotes them heavily to the consumer. Consequently, people around the world buy new outfits more often than necessary and have to throw away a huge pile of clothes every year. As the problem became more severe, it can have several catastrophic results for both people and the planet. Unsustainable business practices that big businesses use to produce goods leads to the destruction of the environment since the process of making them requires massive resources and releases a lot of pollution and toxic chemicals into our atmosphere and water sources. As a result, the environment and natural habitats were destroyed which lead to the extinction of animal species, health problems and most importantly, it helps accelerated climate change which is the most imminent threat to the existence of humanity. To conclude, throw-away culture is both the result and cause of something more dangerous than itself that is capitalism and the greed of corporations. If we do not find a way to resolve the issue, it will potentially harm the planet and our way of living way beyond repair.