In some countries, the criminal trials are shown on TV and the general public can watch them. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantage?

In this contemporary era, an increasing number of television programs are telecasting criminal trials for the members of society. In my opinion, it leads to many benefits for the viewers, especially spreading awareness. Firstly, live TV trials help the general public in learning about the severe consequences of committing a crime. When these trials are run, they often talk about what offences were committed and what will be the related punishment. This helps in spreading awareness among the audience and highlights the power of the government in controlling crime. As a result, many people start making judicious decisions and choose better resorts instead of committing crimes; hence, bringing the crime rate down significantly. Moreover, such live broadcasts either eliminate or minimise cheating or any fraudulent activities by corrupt parties. For instance, the NIB case in India was shown on television which made the case very transparent as it did not allow any corruption throughout. On the other hand, some people think that this act can lead to some disadvantages as well. The primary one is that the offender's private life is displayed openly in front of the world which is not right. However, at the same time, he has committed a serious crime as well. Therefore, it is right to say that he deserves this treatment in return. Moreover, some people also argue that displaying these shows on TV can have a bad impact on young viewers, which may have a psychological effect. Nevertheless, it is the responsibility of the parents to monitor their children's daily activities. For example, in my teenage my parents always kept a check on my screen time and encouraged me to watch productive channels. In conclusion, the benefits of showing criminal trials on TV in spreading knowledge among the community are indeed too great to ignore. These shows reflect a true image of the treatment given to a convict, which helps others in making better choices.