Advertisements are becoming more and more common in our everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

In today’s modern society, consumers encounter quite a large number of advertisements on a daily basis. I personally believe that the demerits of this trend are more significant than the merits. On the one hand, advertisements can have beneficial effects on both businesses and consumers. As regards firms that publish the adverts, their products can be introduced to a substantial number of customers. This will help these organizations increase their sales and profits. As for consumers, they can easily access and recognize various new product types. Also, it is effortless for purchasers to compare the functions and prices of different products. For example, a pair of shoes can have many prices and their quality is also dissimilar. Therefore, adverts may allow/enable buyers to choose products which are suitable for their needs and budget. On the other hand, I strongly believe the disadvantages of advertisements are more concerning, especially for consumers. Firstly, having to see too much advertising on a daily basis can annoy people. If advertisements appear too frequently, they may interfere with people’s daily activities. For example, it can be irritating when one has to turn off multiple adverts that appear when they are watching their favorite movie on the Internet. Secondly, there are a lot of false advertisements which will adversely affect consumers. To increase sales and promote their products, businesses often look to famous figures to represent their products. However, these people may not have knowledge of the product they advertise and use their influence to overstate the utility and function of the product without caring about the health, finance and benefits of consumers. In conclusion, advertisements bring benefits not only for companies but also for consumers. However, I firmly believe that in addition to the upsides of advertising, there are still many detrimental aspects.