Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadventages?

Learning a foreign language makes a person diversify their communication skills. Therefore, it is suggested that every child should learn a second language soon after joining school. This essay will argue that despite it will create extra work for primary teachers, the benefits of learning the language at an early age far outweigh any drawbacks. Learning a language other than the mother tongue at basic schooling levelling might be a new thing for the school management. This new part would require teachers to create an extra effort in planning the strategies, with other activities. For instance, very rare schools teach a foreign language at the primary level, therefore this would require extra sources, and training for the teacher to enable the teaching plan, and we should not forget that there are already loads of work assigned to a teacher. However, all of these problems can be tackled with the support of the official education department, as this should not be neglected, this is the precious age where children can learn the language at their best. Moreover, the primary age of children is considered the hub for learning. It is proven by scientists that, at an early stage, their learning and absorbing capacity of them is at its peak. Also, they will have plenty of time to practice and explore it as they grow up. As compared to secondary school, where they would be expected to concentrate on grades of their basic subjects. For example, in Japan, students are taught five different languages at the primary level, and continue to speak till the end age of their life. In conclusion, introducing language at an early age will be effective and efficient for the students, therefore, it far outweighs the effort and additional tasks required by the school team for the school.