Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others think that the circumstances of a crime, and the reason for committing it should be always considered when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The issue of enforcing the law judiciously is engendered considerable controversies. While many might assert that punishment for each kind of crime ought to be fixed, others argue that it should be dependent on some agent like event-specific reasons and motive for the crime. I personally embrace the concept that we must consider all factors related to crimes when deciding for punishing an individual. The advocates of the first claim assume that we should have a particular punishment for committing each crime. The chief cause might be due to the fact that by fixing the laws, they can help people to improve their awareness about the possible reverberation of breaking the law. In other words, the more people know about the details penalties of against the law, the more they try to avoid doing illegal activities. A good illustration that can be mentioned is a man beating his wife; if he awareness that doing domestic violence makes him go to prison, he probably would not tend to commit it at all. Hence it is discernible that although applying the stable law can increase people's knowledge about the consequences of the crime, considering the different situations for making a decision of punishment is indispensable. In contrast, many people put forward the argument that the penalty for a crime should be given based on the circumstances and the reason for doing it. The most rational justification is that the punishment of a first -time offender is not likely ought to equate with a person who has been charged with different crimes in the past. Take a person stealing a loaf of bread to feed his poverty-stricken family for the first time as the most patently obvious example; he is unlikely should be punished as same as a shoplifter with a criminal record who steals a similar thing. I, therefore, believe that the laws have to be flexible and personal situations should be considerable. In conclusion, despite the fact that people may vary in their opinion, I strongly recommend we must make laws that are changeable in various conditions.