Some people believe that increasing tax on various industries will reduce pollution whereas others believe that there are better alternative ways. Discuss both the view and give your opinion.

Many are of the view that pollution can be minimized by levying higher taxes on companies whereas others believe that there are substitute methods to overcome this. In my opinion, though it has been successful in some avenues it’s hardly a long-term solution for the crisis. An increase in taxes will secure more funding for the government. To begin with, this will be beneficial to tackle the impact which has been done already by these industries. As an example, chemical spills which have polluted the water streams of people can be cleaned by securing technology, and equipment which needs a huge financial investment. Furthermore, finances can be routed to medical facilities to fight against chronic kidney diseases which have been a result of consuming polluted water. Finally, this money can be utilized to recruit more resources to battle against illegal activities by these organizations. On the contrary, policy reforms will be the only sustainable means to eradicate pollution from the earth. Firstly, authorities can bring in reforms that will motivate owners to run their business with less carbon footprint. For instance, tax concessions can be encouraged for organizations who will want to buy machines that will help them to purify waste and make by-products from them. Furthermore, electric cars can be promoted and funded to battle against fossil fuels which are the main source of air pollution. Finally, these reforms can only be successful if the people also adapt to a shift in mindset and thinking. In conclusion, Even though imposing taxes on companies that contribute to environmental disasters can be looked as a temporary solution, the most effective way in my opinion would be to impose government reforms and policies which will be beneficial in the long run.