Some people think students should be encouraged to work or travel after finishing secondary education and before starting university. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Share your own experience and examples.

Students are often encouraged to study. It is often argued by some people that youngsters should be motivated to take a break from their education before commencing higher studies. I believe that it is important for the youth to explore themselves before pursuing their graduation. Though there are several merits associated with this trend, I think that there are a few downsides connected with this approach. To begin with, encouraging students to travel and gain some work experience has two main benefits. One of them is youngsters can get a good amount of time to explore the world, meet people and become socially active. Young minds can experience new cultures and become socially more engaging. Moreover, if students gain some work experience prior to getting started with their higher education, they can understand their skills and choose their career paths wisely. This will lead to career satisfaction in the long term. To cite an example, many students living in South Asian countries prefer gaining some work experience to identify their potential and make wise career decisions. Though there are many benefits associated with this trend, there are a few downsides linked with this approach. Firstly, if students take breaks for a longer duration, they can lose touch with their studies and their knowledge can easily vanish. As a result, youngsters will struggle to cope with their studies later. In addition, many students can undergo high levels of stress feeling that they are lacking behind peers of their same age. Such feelings of guilt can demotivate the youth and they would not be able to concentrate on their education. To conclude, though taking a break before commencing higher studies has obvious benefits, I think that if this gap is for a longer time it can demotivate the students. Thus resulting in stress and lack of concentration.