Doctors should be responsible for educating their patients about how to improve their health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Health and fitness have become very important these days. With the rise in various illnesses, I strongly believe that doctors can play a very important role in guiding their patients to live healthy lifestyles. In this essay, I will further share my views on how doctors could be a better guide to their patients. To commence with, information has become easily available on social media due to which more and more people refer to the internet and find a cure for their ailing symptoms, such behaviour can endanger one's life if correct diagnoses are not given on time. For instance, some may self-medicate and suppress their pain using painkillers which can be fatal when not diagnosed on time. Similarly, some may shy away from reaching out to a specialist while dealing with problems related to intimate body parts and as a result delaying their diagnoses. For example, the women population would refrain from reaching out to a medical expert while having pain in their breasts or any discomfort in their vaginal area. Hence in my view, reaching out to a doctor and seeking the right diagnosis would play a very important role in the overall well-being of a patient. Professional treatment by doctors cannot be replaced by self-medication. To illustrate, cancer can be treated only by a specialist. In my opinion, doctors could play a very important role in educating their clients to avoid such self-medication or being ashamed to discuss issues regarding their private parts. The medical system must include these factors and help residents improve their interaction with patients as a part of their curriculum. This will build in a stronger trust factor between patients and doctors. To summarise, although people resort to medicating themselves, it is doctors ' responsibility to educate their patients on improving their health. I am of the firm opinion that doctors alone can help to improve the health of patients and efforts should be taken to make people aware of this.