Today many people spend less and less time in their homes. What are the reasons and what are the effects of this trend on individuals and society?

Lifestyle has changed in modern-day society compared to the past, and it is reported that the amount of time people spend at home has decreased. The possible reasons and effects of this phenomenon will be elaborated on in the following. Many reasons can explain why people spend less time at home. First, productivity and efficiency are something people value most in our society nowadays, especially in workplaces, so in order to impress supervisors at work, employees spend extra time working, causing a decrease in the time spent at home to unwind or relax. Furthermore, an increasing number of people live in solitude now; however, one can feel bored or lonely alone, so they choose to hang out with their friends outside in restaurants or clubs just to avoid the loneliness they experience at home. However, the importance of being with oneself is significant, because every person lives independently on this planet and we have to address the problem of feeling alone ourselves. Therefore, if one keeps on being with friends or families, this can hinder his personal development toward his own goal or life. Moreover, people can be easily affected by others, so if one spares no time for oneself and is consistently receiving others’ opinions or perspectives, the purpose of life can be obscure and one can be living based on others’ expectations, which can lead to unhappiness and miserable life in the future. In conclusion, the avoidance of loneliness and the increase in work hours can be the reasons for people spending less and less time at home; however, I believe this can result in negative consequences such as slowing personal development down. Therefore, saving some time for oneself at home is recommended.