Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level of sugars which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there are several food and beverage processed products in which sugar is one of the main ingredients, leading to health issues. Some people argue that the price of those products has to be higher, to demotivate people to consume them. As far as I am concerned, I totally agree with this point of view. I truly believe that working on the price could be beneficial. In this essay, I will first, discuss the consequences of diets based on industrial goods and secondly, I will discuss the positive consequences of the creation of a sugar tax. To begin with, it is universally acknowledged that diets based on industrial goods lead to health issues. Many people believe that alongside global warming, health issues related to industrial product consumption are one of the main problems that global leaders have to resolve. In the view of several specialists, many foods and beverages products contain too much quantity of sugar, leading to serious diseases, especially among the Western populations. According to the Australian Prime Minister, 20% of teenagers aged under 15 years old have experienced at least one health issue related to the high consumption of sugar. Interestingly, governments can fix this problem. By Setting up a sugar tax on foods and beverages containing high levels of sugar, we could drastically decrease the figure of people impacted negatively by this natural ingredient and allow them to hope for a better life. For instance, the Norwegian government legislated in 1016 for the introduction of taxes on goods containing high rates of sugar. Consequently, five years later, the number of overweight people dropped by 15%. To sum up, it is well known that too many foods and beverage products contain excessive quantities of sugar, leading to the rise of some diseases. To solve this problem, the solution would be to create a sugar tax, which will increase the price of these products and consequently, reduce their attractiveness.