Some say that news has no connection with most people’s lives and it is a waste of time for most of us to read newspapers and watch television news programs. Do you agree or disagree?

A number of people think that there is no connection between news and their lives so they should not waste their time reading newspapers or watching news on television. I strongly disagree with it because there are many benefits of keeping informed of news in our lives. News is undeniably important for us in many aspects. One aspect of it is the weather forecast. By knowing the prediction of today's weather or the following week's weather, it would help us to plan our activities. If it is forecast to have a storm in a place where we plan to visit, we could postpone it. Besides, news reports can be educational. For example, when news stories on cybercrime are reported in newspapers, people would become more conscious of such scams and so they would be more cautious when conducting transactions. Through the media such as television news channels, we can get informed of what is happening around the world and take necessary actions. For instance, in 2019, when there were Covid-19 cases initially found in China, other countries could get prepared to combat the virus in advance. As a result, in some countries, the number of death cases could be reduced. Additionally, by following the news, we could know what problems our countries are facing in terms of financial or economic situations. Consequently, we could manage our spending accordingly. To sum up, news does have an impact on people’s lives directly and indirectly. Therefore, reading or watching news should not be considered a waste of time. Instead, we should appreciate the benefits of being informed of what is happening around us.