Young people are often influenced by their peers. This is called peer group pressure. Do the advantages outweight disadvantages?

Almost everyone has mates who are similar to them, in terms of age, taste and behaviour. The main reason for the similarity between them is that youngsters usually get influenced by their peers and surroundings. There is no doubt that nobody can resist peer pressure and that group influence has benefits and drawbacks depending on the situation, but mostly they are drawbacks, that will be highlighted in the forthcoming paragraphs. First of all, it is a general human tendency to imitate others. That means it may help with setting good examples for others unless people are in a skilful and amiable group of humans. For example, a person who is a role model for people can encourage them to study or work hard to achieve goals and that individual becomes the reason for one's success. Moreover, when a teenager is surrounded by other teens who are like him and have interests in something such as sports,dancing or reading books. Therefore, those fellows tend to inspire him and that young teen will start doing sports or searching for hobbies, clubs or organisations. Additionally, the fellowship has a huge influence on almost everyone and the good company of friends gives some advice and helps with handling problems and changing the partner's unbearable attitude into a gentle manner. That means, there are some ways to turn incapable children into confident and vigorous ones. However, it is easier for teens to adopt detrimental habits rather than beneficial and useful manners. Probably, some people may force them to try the wrong stuff like alcoholic drinks, various types of cigarettes and drugs. Even some of them engage in self-destructive behaviours, because of some wrong beliefs or lack of proper attention. Besides addiction in general, youngsters must make some vital decisions related to their profession or academic goals and they may give away or refuse to accept good opportunities because of close friends. For example, copying or just imitating mates leads to losing personal qualities or tastes in music, style or even manners and becoming unlike yourself. Thus, peer pressure causes negative elements in one's life. In conclusion, there are merits and demerits sides of peer affection and it seems to me that it has an adverse impact on young humans' life.