Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society.

Modern society has undergone a paradigm shift, notably among which is the growing popularity of social media. From my perspective, this development offers substantial benefits for individuals, yet drawbacks on a societal scale. On an individual level, social media can facilitate everyone’s communication and mutual interaction regardless of geographical boundaries. Nowadays, social networking sites connect people with one another, even those beyond our immediate circle. In other words, modern citizens worldwide have been brought closer together through a social platform where they can freely share their pictures and thoughts on a topic of interest, while this was never the case in the past. In addition, online social networks can also be employed as a lucrative business. It is an observable fact that increasingly more entrepreneurs establish successful careers by offering their products on social media. Such websites provide readily available potential clients to manufacturers and service suppliers alike. In terms of community, I contend that the tremendous growth of online networking sites is posing a threat to social integrity. As people tend to be obsessed with virtual relationships online, and those they have never met and probably will never meet, they inadvertently become neglectful of true friends in real life. This may resultantly deteriorate relationships that an individual has attempted to build over a long time. Moreover, addiction to social media can have a detrimental impact on physical and mental health. For instance, the fact that a rising number of children suffering from a sedentary lifestyle and autism is a prime testament to how the overuse of social media can degrade public well-being. In conclusion, while networking websites can connect people together and are of enormous economic value, I am strongly convinced that people should refrain from overusing them to promote the future of community life.