The rise of social media has affected personal relationships and society as a whole. Do the advantages of using social media for communication outweigh the disadvantages?

The increasing popularity of social media has had impacts on relationships between people and on the overall society. This author contends that the benefits of quick mailing and a wide range of friends outweigh the risk of internet fraud. The most beneficial factor of using social network for communication is that it can send letters in only a few seconds. In other words, smartphones and computers allow users to have a conversation with another person despite their distance. As a result, people can exchange words with anyone providing that they are using the same social media. Take Twitter as a prime example, its function allows millions of messages to be sent every day without any major error or delay. The benefit of getting on with other residents anywhere in the world must also be considered. It is self-explanatory that many online platforms let their users to make friends whether they are natives or foreigners. Consequently, relationships between people of different races and countries are formed. One instance is that Facebook can gather number of individuals into one group so they can share similar interests. However, some people are reluctant to use social media. They argue that there are many online frauds and criminals. This may be true, but by avoiding posting personal information publicly, scammers will have no data to attack or blackmail anyone. Therefore, potential loss can be easily prevented. Taking everything into account, the possible flaw of being deceived online is outweighed by the boons of sending emails quickly and a great list of friends. Thus, this essay has demonstrated that using internet platform for communication is better.