Some people believe arts such as painting and music cannot directly improve the quality of people's lives so that government money should be spent on other things. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that the government should prioritize other services over arts funding because the arts are considered impossible to upgrade the quality of life. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with this idea because arts have the positive effects of impressing audiences and giving them an opportunity to become aware of a new perspective. It is true that arts are unable to bring an immediate improvement in human life such as increasing income, or stopping climate change. In addition, the government can support only a few artists, and thus their artworks are mainly enjoyed by a small number of people. Considering the cost-effectiveness, it is understandable to reduce the amount of national expenditure for public welfare. However, the artwork can potentially help people from a different point of view. On the one hand, people can have an opportunity for feeling inspired because many artists use human emotions as a tool to convey their imagination and theme. For example, Woody Allen, a famous movie director, has filmed dozens of human dramas in which people were always involved in some silly situation. His movie is intended to inspire people by feeling sympathy for the characters and releasing stress or negative emotion in the end. If we focus on material wealth and ignore spiritual abundance, there were less chance of being moved by something, resulting in losing empathic sensitivity. On the other hand, arts also can make people realize new opinions or incidents that would be easily overlooked otherwise. As a famous example, many songs or pictures appealing to peace and love were created in the 1960s, when the Vietnam war was happening. A large number of people joined the movement to change the national policy and finally succeeded in stopping the attack. Therefore, arts play an important role in altering people ’s thoughts. In conclusion, although arts have little power to enhance in the material sense, it is essential for humans to keep arts around them because they can provoke emotional shaking and offer an unnoticed viewpoint.