It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

The importance of taking risks in the development of one ’s professional growth and personal life cannot be emphasized enough. It is argued that the benefits of risk-taking surpass its drawbacks in most cases. Taking risks is crucial to the character development of a person. It helps one discover unhidden talents as well as grow in maturity. For example, in one social experiment that became popular a few years ago, the main subject set out to do one thing outside of his comfort zone on a daily basis for 90 days. The outcome from that social experiment was reported positively with him concluding that he has become more confident, persistent, and resourceful. Furthermore, risk-taking proves to be a major factor in many success stories. Taking chances exposes one to new approaches and solutions, which can potentially lead to innovation and economic advantages. For instance, McDonald’s’s founder - Ray Kroc understood that in order for McDonald's brand to expand nationwide and internationally, he needed to come up with a new business model that doesn’t require him to be present physically and was easy for others to duplicate. He experimented with the first few restaurants and realised he could franchise McDonald’s restaurant operation model to willing investors. Still to this day, this franchising model continues to make Ray Kroc a very wealthy and successful businessman. In conclusion, there is no denial in the importance of taking risks in one ’s professional life as well as personal life. Although there are disadvantages to risk-taking when it’s not properly calculated, its advantages are far superior to its drawbacks.