In some countries an increasing number of people are suffereing from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food.

There is a worrying phenomenon that people are getting more health problems because of having too much fast food. While some suggest imposing a tax on fast food, I still think the effectiveness of this policy is limited. Instead, I believe that introducing other policies are far more important to increase individuals’ awareness of health issues. The effect of adding a tax on fast food is questionable. Introducing tax will mainly raise the retail price of the food. Although it can decrease the incentive of buying it as the cost increase, a majority of people would actually just shift to another kind of fast food only, without understanding the message concerning the health issue behind the tax. One of the most important features of fast food is to be cheap so that the poor can get meals at more affordable prices. It is very likely that rising tax for fast food increases their expenditures on food, which further reduce their freedom to choose the food. Nevertheless, I believe that there are different levels of measures to reduce health problems. Fast food companies should be forced to provide information about their products, such as the ingredients, calories, and warning labels just like cigarettes. For the government, more promotion and education on having healthy food and regular exercise should be delivered to the general public. The government can also subsidize the companies that sell organic health food to lower the price as much as fast food. Individuals should be encouraged to do daily exercise and have body checks each year In conclusion, while some people would agree the number of people suffering from health problems can reduce by imposing a tax on fast food, I disagree that the policy could help and strongly believe that there are a lot of alternative measures done by the government, companies and the general public to promote the public awareness on the health issue.