Some people think that the environment may be destroyed because of tourism. Others, however, believe that it is a way to preserve nature. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Natural resources have been deteriorating in recent decades, so analysing the effects of different policies, like stimulating the tourism industry, has been controversial among different stakeholders. Though a significant number of activists believe that tourism will exacerbate the environmental status of countries, I am an avid fan of those who advocate not only for its detrimental effects but also for its beneficial ones. According to consequences that tourism could bring to the natural assets of a region, some critics, being pessimistic about the harmful side effects that tourist trips could have for pristine natural areas, advocate that tourists could violate the comfort zones of some species during their discoveries. On the contrary, some other environmentalists think that, in the case of setting balanced policies, tourism not only will not deteriorate natural species but also could be used as a useful tool for the promotion of environmentally friendly culture. Personally, being optimistic about tourism, I support the view of the later described group. First of all, having regular trips in nature will let people be more aware of the value of the environment, so they will not be indifferent about the environmental issues in their strategic decision like taking part in parliament or presidential elections. Second, tourism could stimulate local economies around the pristine nature zones which could be an important source for financing many protective measures that social activists need to take like reinforcement of protected zone for special species. To conclude, depending on how much national or tourism policies of each country are environmentally friendly, tourism could be beneficial or harmful for environmental assets, however, I as an optimistic citizen believe that stimulation of tourism, in case of mild complement policies, could have many for protection of natural species.